My Old Friend

How long old friend shall I be with you?
It’s been a fast and merry ride.
At times a bit too exciting
When we’ve had no place to hide.

While others, we’ve languished along the way
All peaceful and serene.
And oh the mountains we’ve climbed upon
And the valleys deep we’ve seen.

But now that the time is drawing nigh
When it’s ruled we must depart.
Now I wonder how it would have been
Had we had a different start.

But then what more than what we’ve had
What more could we have done?
To bring us yet more closer still
To make us more as one.

As I gaze upon your aged face
A face I hold so dear
I give you one last parting glance
And slowly shuffle from the mirror.

JW

Leave a Reply

