Old Tom (from last winter)

angry-wet-cat-6Last night was the coldest ever in Ohio . . . -8 with a stiff wind . . . old Tom was scratching on the door, he wants in.

‘Oh no, poor cat is going to freeze’. Big hearted me goes out on the porch to rescue Tom and let him spend the night in the warm laundry room . . . “Here kitty, kitty.” He comes over, rubs on my leg, I bend, pet, snatch up cat and head back inside.

Now Tom has never been in a house. He totally freaks out and starts yowling and scratching his way up my chest towards my face . . . I drop him . . . next thing I know Tom leaps on the table beneath the window, then tries to climb the drapes . . . . “I WANT OUT OF HERE!”

Unable to make it out, he jumps back to the floor and heads into the library on a dead run. First he skids into and then leaps upon another table . . . bye, bye good lamp! He dives off yowling like a dying cow and flies back to the main room, across the couch top and back to the window. This time he succeeds in climbing the drapes like Sylvestor Stallone in the movie ‘Cliffhanger” . . . until he, as well as the drapes come crashing to the floor, that is.

During this mad dash to destroy, Tom is being chased by two other cats, a Jack Russell terrier and a really excited pit bull puppy.

Finally we all trap poor Tom and I throw his crazy ass back outside.

Thanking God that my wife is in NC visiting her brother I pour myself a double shot of Old Crow and sit in the Lazy Boy staring at the chaotic mess before me. . . . while in the back ground Tom begins to piss and moan about how cold it is on the porch . . .

8 comments

  1. Noony

    It’s cold here too, unusual lows for my area. Our house is old and drafty. My turtles live in the foyer, which is consistently a different temperature from the rest of the house. They probably hate me. If they could freak out the same way as your cat, I’d be in trouble. But all they can do is give me dirty looks and hibernate.

    Like

  2. Sam Red

    OMG! Your story made me laugh. Bless you, your dogs and poor old Tom! I love kitties – am a “gattara”, which is italian for “woman who feeds stray cats” 🙂 but strays ain’t easy. How’s Tom these days? Greetings, Sam 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

