Find Your Land (part 8)

Imagine that you have decided to leave the city. You want to buy some land and live the life you had always dreamed of. How will you go about this daunting task? If you don’t know, I will show you a way, not the only way of course, but a pretty good way of action to take in order to escape the modern world and live a more natural life.

First of all you must know that a natural life is not necessarily an easier life, there is a reason why people born on the farm generally dream about leaving it once they are grown. But for those of us who have already experienced the modern lifestyle and chose to leave it behind, country living will be far more rewarding, both naturally as well as spiritually.

In many ways returning to the land will feel about the same as a soldier feels upon returning home from foreign service. You may be bewildered at first and out of synch, but after a period of adjustment you will adapt and get on with it once you realize that romantic fantasy is ALWAYS better than it’s reality.

So you’ve dreamed about it for years and finally decided to make the leap, now what? How do you keep from turning that pleasant dream into a nightmare?

First thing to do is put your plan in writing. What do you want and where do you want it? What are you planning to do with your land? How much money do you have? Do you need to get a job right away or can you wait a while? Answer all these questions as best as you can and you will have formed a direction to take.

Following is the direction we took . . . each person will, of course, have their own way according to their abilities and the size of their bank accounts.

I was close to fifty years old when I decided to stop wandering. I was tired, had been to all the places, done all the things I wanted to do, and now all I wanted to do was find a soft place to fall.

I met and married my beloved Joyce.

. jimjoyce2.jpg

She, an officer of the law. I, who spent most of my life escaping and evading the law, were married in a Kent Ohio park. Today, 23 years later . . . the beat goes on.

Joyce told me that she had always prayed for a cabin in the woods. I intended to make it happen for her.  We would find a piece of land with hills and woods and I would build her a cabin on it . . . . We would live there happily forever after.

First we had to figure out where we wanted to live. We began the search taking into consideration all the variables like distance from our grown kids, temperate zone, water supply, terrain, price, etc.

The way we found our land was to go to the area of choice and look around. We talked to people and got a feel of whether or not we wanted to live amongst them. What kind of culture is available? Music? Restaurants? Anything?

You could research the local paper, as well as the various mini-mart type classifieds. You may get lucky and find good property for sale by owner. If you do buy from a private owner you must be able to do all the research on your own. This will be cheaper, but you will also have more responsibility. You can not take anything promised by the seller for granted because they may be lying (sad, but true) . . .

Find the local real estate company and look at their listings. If you buy from a real estate company you will pay more, but it will be safer for you to do it that way.

We bought our land direct and at a great price because I was a homebuilder and knew what I was doing. Were I an accountant on my first go, I would have used a real estate company. They will do it all for you, BUT they will probably not mention the scourge of big gas, coal, and oil . . . so you must be careful, as well as damn lucky.

In the US we have a large variety of places to build or buy a farm, BUT we also have the fossil fuel industry on a feeding frenzy. We must do our research because the oil industry OWNS the butthead politicians, lock, stock, and barrel and will ultimately get their way. (unless WE stop them)

When I bought this property I had never heard of fracking, therefore I was blindsided when the virus became a reality around here. Now I must fight. This was not in my plans. I am tired of fighting, but the reality of life on this planet often leaves one with only that option.

Notice: You do NOT want to buy land above the Ohio Utica shale play like I did. If you do you must make sure you have the mineral rights or they may be digging a well 250 feet from your house and basically ruining you without a second thought.

Luckily, I own the mineral rights to my property as do most of my few neighbors, and none of us have signed leases except for one guy who now regrets it.

Water is the main victim of fracking. I purchased this property knowing I had two great springs. They are beginning to feel the pressure that the frackers are putting on the water table beneath this whole area. Although no fracking will ever be done in view of my place, I may still suffer from it . . . we may all suffer from it.

Water is our lifeblood, without it we die, everything dies. City water is fluoridated.

see video:  http://youtu.be/aqQkqZKBuV4

I did everything I could to get these springs in good shape and I must say we had GREAT water . . . now I’m not so sure.

Watch this video on fracking . . .There are many other video’s on youtube . . . . and DON”T believe the bullshit coming from the gas industry! They are putting profit above people and therefore cannot be trusted. . . . Good luck.

 http://youtu.be/uokmsSi7LTY

In spite of the problems Joyce and I would desire no other place to live. We love it here in this quiet valley and are glad we made the move . . . (you can see the pictures of our two houses in the catagory section)

It will be difficult to find, but great to own your own land . . . just be careful. (to be continued)

 

3 comments

  1. Erin Kurnik

    Thanks for this! I know I am getting closer to leaving NYC and living in a more natural setting. I think I have come to accept I will be renting a little cottage before owning to start, even if I have to container garden (it’s an improvement compared to no yard and no garden). It does seem like owning a home is a lot of responsibility– managing the lawn, re-painting or re-staining if wood, repairs. How much do you stow away each year for home repair/maintenance? Plus, I would have to get a car 😉 So, the next step is just financially preparing for this and also visiting some perspective progressive towns/cities I want to live near. I am collecting unemployment, which will run out soon. I guess I have to start a company, as I don’t really want to work for anyone once it runs out. Green interior painting, here I come (was probably going to do it anyway)– nice bridge to my passion.

    Like

  2. Erin Kurnik

    Unless, I can get something funded through kickstarter or indiegogo, where I start a mini bed and breakfast, eco-education center on my property (I want to learn permaculture, gray water, etc.) and then get someone to fund the land, building of my earth ship and little cottage for rental. I will have to meditate on that more 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

