Warm House Living

The way of life in this country is changing, of that I have no doubt. Personally I am broke most of the time. The things we used to do we no longer can. It costs too much to drive our vehicles, grocery shop and heat the house for us to go on even a real day trip. I’ve been saving for six weeks just to get enough money together to buy materials to roof my dojo.

Ok, I’m retired on a fixed income, I have enough to eat, a roof over my head and I live in a nice little valley with tree covered hills surrounding it. I shouldn’t complain, right? I should be content, but am I? . . . you’re damn right I am!

I’m happy as a deer in springtime. I’m happy as my pitbull who just stole a bone from my Rottweiler . . . I’m so damn happy most of the time that I often wonder why the rest of the folks I know are complaining so much.

My goal to help them be as happy and content as me WITHOUT their cash and credit cards. Since we are spending more time these days at home, I feel it is imperative we make the place as warm and cozy as possible. Of course those words mean different things to different folks. I’ll tell you what my wife and I did to assure that feeling for ourselves, and then perhaps you can figure out your own way within your own parameters.

First step, design your home’s interior yourself, don’t spend your limited cash on interior designers to do it for you. Some of the coldest houses I ever saw came from a designer and his book of tricks. Your house should fit YOUR personality not be a Vogue catalog look alike.

Actually, do as much designing as you can for yourselves, it makes you feel good to sit back and say, “hey I did that!” Ego? sure, but it stills feels good!

I personally designed and built this house we live in and all the outbuildings surrounding it mostly by myself. I did all the interior work and built quite a bit of the furniture also.

Now, I attempt to be a humble man and I don’t walk around this property patting myself on the back and tooting my horn all the time . . . but damn I’m proud of it! My roots are planted on this hillside . . . and that is something for a man who wandered rootless across this country for at least sixty four years.

Anyways, beings I am a retired builder, I’m going to offer my expertise to those interested out there who need help figuring out their own situation when it comes to small and simple life styles.

As a rule allotment grade McMansions are cheaply built and about as cold as this winter was when it comes to warm and cozy . . . but even then there are things you can do to keep the cabin fever demon at bay. My fee for advice is as always . . . free (and we don’t take donations)

The cabin we live in . . . .

house

 

 

 

 

 

 

from the living area to the library

DSCF0001

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is the library and music room . . .  essential in a small home.

DSCF0073

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSCF0075

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSCF0076

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSCF0077

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSCF0078

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is the stair to the loft 2nd bedroom

DSCF0079

 

 

 

 

 

 

living room and kitchen

DSCF0080

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSCF0081

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSCF0082

 

 

 

 

 

 

Everywhere we look in this house my wife and I see ourselves. therefore we don’t mind staying at home . . . 🙂

17 comments

  1. jjwalters

    yeah . . . one day I was listening to Willie singing about ‘ looking for a home life and clean smelling sheets and all those soft places to fall’ and I said “hell yeah, me too!” . . . so . . .

    Like

  2. Noony

    Trying to lead by example, mostly. 🙂 I have no building skills…but I am a hard worker and can identify tools. Also, I know a lot of random information that may prove useful in self-sufficiency and simplistic living.

    Like

  3. sheenabee

    Love it. if only you were a wee bit closer… Hubsand (that’s what I call him, it’s not a typo…) has for our whole marriage had all his music gear and recording stuff in our house and there just is not room as the 3 wee ones are now bigger ones. Let’s just say it makes recording lyrics a bit tricky! For YEARS he has been planning his exit strategy from the living room or the kitchen (we’ve tried most rooms) and the plan is to convert the garage outside into some sort of a studio rather than the storage/dumping ground that it has always been, but as time and cash are both limited it’s a dead slow ansd stop process but WE WILL GET THERE EVENTUALLY!!!!!

    Like

  4. jjwalters

    It is not as hard or as expensive as you may think if you do it yourself . . . of course I don’t know Ireland . . . but I create stuff out of juck (notice my coffee tables came out of the woods)

    Send me a picture . . . we’ll do a project right here . . . and your husband can do the physical stuff . . 🙂

    Like

  5. Noony

    Don’t think they’d ever sell it – the zombie apocalypse and all. 😉

    By the way, I heard on NPR that you no longer have to be a contractor to build a house. As a matter of fact, some website/organization offers free blueprints online and, if you have access to a 3D printing machine, you can make your own pieces and assemble them. I thought that was pretty wild.

    Like

  6. jjwalters

    depending on where you live. Here in Ohio you don’t even need a license to be a pro contractor. . .

    My little cabin would fit nice on your property and if you built it yourself with second hand stuff it would not cost much.

    Probably less than 10 grand and no more than a new car. . . .

    Like

Leave a Reply

