The Beauty of Not Knowing

I used to think that I needed to know everything concerning spiritual matters. I had to know all about death. I had to know all about God. Who, What, Where, When, and Why? . . . am I?

The reason for this or that was pretty important to me and I spent a whole lot of years studying everything I could in order to KNOW. I knew the bible practically verbatim, I understood New Age, Spiritualism, Eastern, Western religions. In various degrees I either believed or disregarded all the input and ultimately came about creating my own Way of understanding.

Great! I now had my own doctrine and could begin to teach my ultimate “truth” to the rest of the world. (or at least the people around me)

Yeah, right. Just what everybody needed, another half-baked prophet entering the mix. As if it wasn’t already loaded with enough bullshit to sink an aircraft carrier.

Then one day I began to wonder why I needed to know all this stuff anyways. I knew for certain that Cause and Effect . . . Karma . . . Law of Sowing and Reaping or whatever else you wanted to call it worked cause it proves itself daily in our lives. (to anyone willing to look around a bit)

Karl Jung’s synchronicity certainly made sense. Who hasn’t experienced the double witness affect in their life or heard a still small voice just at the right time?

The other stuff? I don’t know. Do I really NEED to know anyways? I began to wonder and decided, no. What is, is. What will be will be, regardless whether I believe in it or not.

Does anybody really believe that just because a person does not profess to a certain magical equation or take part in ritual that he is certain to go to a reported Hell after he dies? I mean just because I didn’t particularly like my father did that make him NOT my father? Wouldn’t a loving father love his son regardless?

My religion focuses on inner balance and awareness. If I was to ask you what “oneness” means to you it probably would be a different answer that the one I’d give because the “oneness’ I see comes from experiences that I’ve had during my life journey.

If I were to proselytize my belief to you and you chose to believe me it may just knock you off your own path. Not a good thing.

so I can say “the Tao that can be spoken is not the true Tao” because although my proselytization would be perhaps true for me it may be poison for you. Anyway as a true practitioner I would not bring up religion at all.

One comment

Leave a Reply

