To Be Myself . . . But Who Am I?

Recently I read a story about a women who had a near death experience. She died of cancer, went over, came back healed and now tells her story about it. She says above all else just be yourself. You are perfect just the way you are . . . the only judgement from the other side is that which you lay upon yourself . . . that’s it . . . just be yourself. Her name is Anita Moorjani if you’re interested.

I want to be myself. . . but

Who am I?

Am I the tough kid who was born in a housing project that learned to fight and to trust nobody except my friends by the time I was tall enough to reach the doorknob and escape from the hellhole called family? . . . no

Am I the kid who grew up wanting to be an athlete but never made it beyond a third place finish? . . . no

Am I the bad student who had a 130 IQ but always had his girlfriend do his homework for him and who loved to cheat on tests? . . . no

Am I the lean mean airborne fighting machine who spent two years roaming Asia for God and country? . . . no, hell no! . . . that’s why I become a government hater and a wanna be peace maker.

Am I a peace maker? . . . no I was just another drug taker . . .

Am I a good born again Christian? No . . . I tried, but that thought died when I learned they lied. . . that’s how I became a religion hater (I think Jesus is too, actually)

Am I a wilderness wanderer who loved to lone it in the Alaskan wilderness? . . . sorta . . . but I enjoyed coming in out of the cold . . . and pizza . . . and beer . . . and a women’s soft body . . . too much

What about a poet? . . . nahh

Artist? . . .

Musician? . . .

Writer? . . . none of the above

What the hell! Who am I?

Well . . . I actually know the answer to that question.

I AM the king of the world . . . and I am having one hell of a great time trying on all these uniforms.

Isn’t that what we ALL are doing?

2 comments

  1. Pingback: What to do when you die | Every Place Interesting

Leave a Reply

